Hello world!

My name is Madeleine Mann and I am a first year student at the University of Wollongong. I am currently studying a Bachelor of International Studies and a Bachelor of Communication and Media and that is what this blog is for. I will be blogging about how the media is used to get messages across to the public.

The issue I have chosen to focus on is citizen journalism and how it has changed the way events are communicated in the media.

The events that took place in New York City on September 11, 2001 is one example that I will be reviewing in depth. How was 9/11 depicted in the media?  How did citizen journalism come into the newspaper articles and radio and television newscasts? Other events that will be explored include various Australian natural disasters and other major news events.

I hope you enjoy my blog!

Leave a Reply

