Oops I slipped and Showed My Inner Feminist.

Week 8. Gender.

Feminism; noun; the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes. 

Feminism is a dirty word. Men belittle the movement. Women refuse to be associated with it. But why? After all, being a feminist simply means that you view men and women as equal. I am a feminist. I believe that I should have the same opportunities as my brothers. I believe my being female does not make me weak, it should not make me ineligible for anything. Which is why I also believe that I should receive no special privileges for being a female. I should be afforded the same respect that would be afforded to any man.

Which is why I am disgusted when I turn the television on I see men paraded around like heroes for having sex with as many people as they like, as is their legal right but women are portrayed as, for lack of a better term, ‘sluts’ for exercising that same right to choose. Men continuously tell us that they see us as equal however why are we still receiving treatment in the media that depicts us as merely a mans sex toy. Female sexuality is so often paraded around on television for the sexual gratification of men. I can almost picture directors sitting there watching a scene play out and deciding “this scene is a little boring, she better take her top off to keep it interesting,” because obviously there is nothing the public like more than unnecessary female nudity. I am not a prude. I have no problem with nudity – when it exists to add to the storyline and not simply to attract a broader male audience.

There are strong, admirable female characters on television (shocking, yes, television producers sometimes get it right). In The Good Wife Julianna Margulies plays Alicia Florrick a women who does not stand in the shadow of her husband and who has become a woman who is respected by everyone because of her strength as a person, her intelligence and her integrity not simply for her beauty. She is a character who is shown to be a sexual being but not degraded to seem like a slut. The world needs more female characters of Alicia Florrick’s calibre, who are portrayed as strong without being cast as a bitch.

alicia florrick

Leave a Reply

